Eric and Brett Ryback work on their new musical at the Goodspeed Opera House!

Eric Ulloa and Brett Ryback have been invited to attend the Johnny Mercer Foundation’s 2015 Writers Colony at the prestigious Goodspeed Opera House!

They will be working on their new musical “Passing Through” while in attendance.

Here’s how the foundation bills the event:


“The Writers Colony created a confluence of a long-held mission of fostering new works by Goodspeed and the JMF mission to nurture the discipline of songwriting. With this wonderful collaboration, Goodspeed continues to be an incubator for the next generation of musical theatre artists, and performers as well as the center for the American Musical.

The outstanding writers who have been invited to participate in the colony have earned tremendous recognition in the industry with honors such as the Lucille Lortel Award, ASCAP’s Howard Adamson Award, Jonathan Larson Fellowship, ASCAP Richard Rodgers Award, and the Calloway Award. In addition, participants have earned such honors as the MacDowell Fellowship, Outer Critics Circle and Drama Desk Awards, NYMF Awards and an OBIE Award, as well as nominations for Tony and Olivier Awards.

We are pleased to announce that the 2014 writing teams are (in alphabetical order) Rob Ackerman, Michael Aman, Gabriel Barre, Hunter Bell, Rachel Chavkin, Matthew Doers, Diana Fithian, Sam Foreman, Hunter Foster, Meredith Friedman, Emily Goldman, Keith Gordon, Sarah Hammond, Tor Hyams, Creighton Irons, Michael R. Jackson,Amanda Jacobs, Sammy James Jr., Jonathan Keebler, Cheeyoung Kim, Ryan Korell, Dawn Landes,

Frank Licari, Patrick Lundquist, Douglas Lyons,Sean Mahoney, Dave Malloy,Emily Maltby, Ann McNamee, Madeline Myers, Sara Nicholson, Patricia Noonan,Ryan Scott Oliver,Ethan Pakchar,Matthew Lee Robinson, Heidi Rodewald,Jean Rohe,Dana Rowe,Lisa Rothauser, Brett Ryback, Pete Seibert, Stew, Eric Ulloa, Eric Webb, Michael Weiner and Alan Zachary.”